Friday, April 11, 2008

Seven New Deadly Sins: Suitably updated

P.J. O'Rourke at The Weekly Standard, April 14, 2008, considers the seven new deadly sins suggested by Bishop Gianfranco Girotti of the Vatican's Apostolic Penitentiary.
Still, one takes the bishop's point. A deadly sins addendum is long overdue. Life has changed since Pope Gregory the Great scribbled his initial list in the sixth century. For one thing modern society has turned Envy, Gluttony, Lust, Anger, Sloth, and Greed into virtues: building self-esteem, dreaming your dream, exercising gourmet tastes, having satisfying sex for life, speaking truth to power, being relaxed and centered. And Gordon Gekko said it all about greed.

Unfortunately Bishop Girotti's late-model sins make as little sense as a Jeremiah Wright sermon. They have no gravitas. Imagine the reaction in the confessional when you say, "Father, I have littered." Plus the supplementary desecrations lack a certain flair. The beauty of Pope Gregory's lineup was that he nailed our most devilish villainies with one word each.

So Mr. O'Rourke has a go at it.

(via Arts & Letters Daily)

No comments:

Post a Comment